Discover the City of Ouistreham

Camping les Peuplier is only 15 minutes from Ouistreham. The city is often called the pearl of the Nacre coast. During your camping holiday near Ouistreham, you cannot miss these huge sandy beaches and the small fishing port where there is a daily fish market. You can’t miss the fish market and its wave-shaped architecture. Nearly 25 fishing houses offer you their most beautiful fish and seafood. The main street of the small town is also very pleasant in season for a walk, shopping or finding a good little restaurant where to sit down with family or friends.

Portsmouth – Ouistreham

The English know Ouistreham well. Brittany Ferries has a regular line between the city and Portsmouth. 3 departures are insured per day for a crossing duration of a little more than 5 hours during the day, 7 hours at night.

What to see, what to do near Ouistreham?

The Lighthouse

Have you always wanted to see the inside of a lighthouse? Now is the time! The Ouistreham Lighthouse welcomes you from the top of its 38 meters. Take your courage with both hands to climb the 171 steps of the Lighthouse’s spiral staircase and you will discover a breathtaking 360° view of the city and the sea.

The Pointe du Siège and the Orne estuary

Ouistreham is the ideal place for a holiday in the countryside to discover the fauna and the Norman forest. The preserved natural site of the Orne estuary is a privileged shelter for nearly 300 species. Discover the dunes and the wild beach. On 350 hectares, it is a major ornithological reserve where we also cross, sometimes, seals.

Sword Beach

But Ouistreham is also the famous beach of Sword Beach where French commandos fought during the landing on June 6, 1944. The film «The Longest Day» highlights the famous Kieffer commando and the 1st Battalion of Marine Rifles. The Green Berets advanced towards Pegasus Bridge at Bénouville. Only 24 of the 177 soldiers completed the French campaign. Museum N°4 Commando in Ouistreham pays a very nice tribute to these men.

You can also visit the Atlantic Wall Museum. One can only be impressed by the last visible remnant of the most powerful coastal battery on the coast.   The «Grand Bunker» is on 6 levels and gives a striking idea of what the fighters on both sides were going through. At the entrance of the Grand Bunker, you can see one of the famous landing craft.

Découvrez Ouistreham

Le camping les Peuplier est seulement à 15 minutes de Ouistreham. La cité est souvent appelée la perle de la côte de Nacre. Lors de vos vacances en camping proche de Ouistreham, vous ne pouvez manquer ces immenses plages de sable fin et le petit port de pèche où se tient un marché aux poissons quotidien. Vous ne pouvez pas rater la halle aux poissons et son architecture en forme de vague. Près de 25 maisons de pêches vous y proposent leurs plus beaux poissons et fruits de mer. La rue principale de la petite ville est également très agréable en saison pour une balade, du shopping ou trouver un bon petit restaurant où s’attabler en famille ou entre amis.

Portsmouth – Ouistreham

Les anglais connaissent bien Ouistreham. En effet, la compagnie Brittany Ferries dispose d’une ligne régulière entre la ville et Portsmouth. 3 départs sont assurés par jour pour une durée de traversée d’un peu plus de 5 heures en journée, 7 heures la nuit.

Que voir, que faire à proximité d’Ouistreham ?

Le Phare

Vous avez toujours voulu voir l’intérieur d’un phares ? C’est le moment ! Le Phare de Ouistreham vous accueille du haut de ses 38 mètres. Prenez votre courage à deux mains pour gravir les 171 marches de l’escalier en colimaçon du Phare et vous découvrirez une vue imprenable à 360° sur la ville et la mer.

La Pointe du siège et l’estuaire de l’Orne

Ouistreham est le lieu idéal pour des vacances en pleine nature à la découverte de la faune et de la fore normande. Le site naturel préservé de l’estuaire de l’Orne est un abri privilégié pour près de 300 espèces. Partez à la découverte des dunes et de la plage sauvage. Sur 350 hectares, c’est une réserve ornithologique de premier plan où l’on croise aussi, parfois, des phoques.

Sword Beach

Mais Ouistreham, c’est aussi la fameuse plage de Sword Beach où des commandos français livrèrent bataille lors du débarquement le 6 juin 1944. Le film « Le jour le plus long » met très justement en lumière le fameux commando Kieffer et le 1er Bataillon de fusiliers marins. Les bérets verts avancèrent vers Pegasus Bridge à Bénouville. Seuls 24 de ces soldats sur les 177 achevèrent la campagne de France. Le Musée N°4 Commando à Ouistreham rend un très bel hommage à ces hommes.

Vous pourrez également visiter le musée du Mur de l’Atlantique. On ne peut qu’être impressionné devant le dernier vestige visible de la plus puissante batterie côtière de la côte.  Le « Grand Bunker » s’étage sur 6 niveaux et donne une idée frappante de ce que vécurent les combattants des deux côtés. A l’entrée du Grand Bunker, vous pourrez voir une des célèbres péniches du débarquement.