Discover the City of Caen

Visit Caen, found great moments in the history of our school books! On the ramparts of the castle, you will see the army of William the Conqueror who rushes, all oriflammes in the wind, to the legendary battle of Hasting and the throne of England…

The city of Caen is 20 kilometres from the 4-star campsite Les Peupliers in Merville-Franceville. During your stay at the campsite, the city of Caen is a must-visit. The capital of Calvados, the town of William the Conqueror is dominated by its imposing castle erected around 1060. It is a city full of history where you will also find the magnificent Memorial dedicated to the Second World War.

What to see, what to visit in Caen?

William the Conqueror

During your stay in a campsite near Caen, you will not fail to visit Caen. The city has many attractions, starting with the legacy of William the Conqueror. You can visit the Abbaye aux Dames, built between 1060 and 1080 by Queen Mathilde. Together with the Trinity Church, it is a beautiful example of Romanesque art, beautifully preserved. Built later and remodelled in the 13th century, the Abbey aux hommes is a subtle blend of Romanesque and Gothic, whose vast spaces invite to recollection. Finally, on the hill, do not miss the castle of the Duke-King. This vast medieval enclosure was heavily damaged during the war and notably the bombings of 1944, it now houses the Museum of Normandy and the Museum of Fine Arts.

The Abbaye aux Hommes and the Abbaye aux Dames

These two large abbeys were founded by William the Conqueror and are among the most famous monuments in Caen. In fact, they were built in preparation for William’s wedding with Matilda of Flanders, his distant cousin, a marriage that was condemned by the Pope.

The Abbaye aux Hommes

With its Saint-Etienne abbey, the Abbaye aux Hommes is a real gem of Romanesque and Gothic architecture. At that time, the distinguished guests of the Abbaye aux Hommes even had their own lodgings: the Ducal Palace, which has now become the Artothèque, Contemporary Art Spaces. Inside the abbey, you can’t miss the imposing tomb of William the Conqueror in the Gothic choir. Remember to look up at the sculptures that adorn the columns!

The Abbaye aux Dames

Monastery of Benedictine nuns, hospital and hospice, the Abbaye aux Dames has played an important role in the city of Caen since its creation. The Abbey of the Trinity houses a magnificent crypt as well as the tomb of Mathilde of Flanders, Queen of England, Duchess of Normandy and wife of William the Conqueror. Do not miss a visit to the Michel d’Ornano Park with an admirable view of the entire city of Caen at sunset!

Gardens

Caen is also a very green city. Nearly 500 hectares in the city are dedicated to natural areas. The garden of plants, created in the nineteenth century will delight you with its large aisles and the variety of species presented. But you can also enjoy the «Prairie», a vast park that regularly offers activities or the hill with birds. These are places that Caennais love for a picnic with family or friends for example.

The Medieval Vaugeux District

The Medieval district of Vaugueux is probably one of the most popular and well-known parts of the city of Caen. This is a historic area with Caen-stone houses dating from the Middle Ages. It is also a very trendy spot. Rue du Vaugueux really brings the Caen evenings to life. The old town square, cobblestone streets, restaurants and bars… During your visit to the district, you can hear how as child, Edith Piaf came here to visit her grandparents, where they owned a café!

The Memorial

The huge Memorial Museum is a must see detour during your camping holiday in Caen. The museum allows to understand perfectly what took place on June 6, 1944 on the Norman beaches, The Memorial also traces the entire period before 1945 and up to the Cold War. His visit deserves a good day alone.

 

The city turns out to be alive

But the capital of Calvados is not suffocated by this prestigious past. The city is proving to be lively, airy and resolutely turned towards the future. This dynamism is expressed through the multiple venues that offer a varied palette of artistic creations.

Finally, if Caen is your holiday destination, know that you can enjoy the most varied leisure activities there: cruises on the Caen-Ouistreham canal, golf on one of the city’s three courses, walks in the parks and gardens.

Découvrez Caen

Visiter Caen, s’est retrouvé de grands moments d’histoire de nos livres d’écoles ! Sur les remparts du château, vous reverrez l’armée de Guillaume le Conquérant qui s’élance, toutes oriflammes au vent, vers la légendaire bataille de Hasting et le trône d’Angleterre…

Camping Caen

La ville de Caen se trouve à 20 kilomètres du camping 4 étoiles les Peupliers à Merville-Franceville. Lors de votre séjour au camping, la ville de Caen est une visite à faire absolument. Chef-lieu du Calvados, la ville e Guillaume le Conquérant est dominée par son imposant château érigé vers 1060. C’est une ville chargée en histoire où vous trouverez également le magnifique Mémorial dédié à la seconde guerre mondiale.

Que voir, que visiter à Caen ?

Guillaume le conquérant

Lors de votre séjour en camping proche de Caen, vous ne manquerez pas de visiter Caen. La ville possède bien des attraits à commencer par l’héritage de Guillaume le conquérant. Vous pourrez ainsi visiter l’Abbaye aux Dames, construite entre 1060 et 1080 par la reine Mathilde. Avec l’église de la Trinité, c’est un bel exemple de l’art roman, magnifiquement préservé. Erigé plus tard et remaniée au XIIIème siècle, l’Abbaye aux hommes est un subtil mélange de roman et de gothique dont les vastes espaces invitent au recueillement. Enfin, sur la colline, ne ratez pas le château du Duc-Roi. Cette très vaste enceinte médiévale a été fortement endommagé pendant la guerre et notamment les bombardements de 1944, il abrite aujourd’hui le Musée de Normandie et le Musée des beaux-arts.

Les jardins

Caen est aussi une ville très verte. Près de 500 hectares en pleine ville sont dédiés aux espaces naturels. Le jardin des plantes, créé au XIXème siècle vous ravira par ses grandes allées et la variété des espèces présentées. Mais vous pourrez aussi profiter de la « Prairie », vaste parc qui propose régulièrement des activités ou encore la colline aux oiseaux. Ce sont des endroits dont raffolent les caenais pour un pique-nique en famille ou entre amis par exemple.

Le vieux Caen et Vaugueux.

Il est un endroit à Caen que nous aimons beaucoup. Le quartier du Vaugueux ou vécut Edith Piaf. Vous admirez les façades des vieilles maisons normandes toutes de bois vêtues. Sous les colombages vous trouverez de nombreux restaurants pour découvrir la très bonne cuisine normande. Pourquoi ne pas gouter justement les fameuses tripes à la mode de Caen. Ne ratez pas également le quartier de la rue froide et ses nombreuses boutiques pour flâner et pourquoi pas faire un peu de shopping.

Le mémorial

L’immense Musée est un détour obligatoire lors de vos vacances en camping à Caen. Situé dans l’enceinte du château, sa visite mérite une bonne journée à elle seule. Le musée permet de comprendre parfaitement ce qui s’est déroulé le 6 juin 1944 sur les plages normandes, Le Mudée retrace aussi toute la période avant 1945 et jusqu’à la guerre froide.

La ville se révèle vivante

Mais la capitale du Calvados n’est pas étouffée par ce passé prestigieux. La ville se révèle vivante, aérée et résolument tournée vers l’avenir. Ce dynamisme s’exprime au travers des multiples lieux de spectacles qui proposent une palette variée de créations artistiques.

Enfin, si Caen est votre destination de vacances, sachez que vous pourrez y pratiquer les loisirs les plus variés : croisières sur le canal Caen-Ouistreham, golf sur un des trois parcours de la ville, promenades dans les parcs et jardin.

Camping proche de Caen avec piscine chauffée

Le camping Les Peupliers 4 étoiles dans le Calvados vous accueille pour profiter pleinement de vos vacances près de la charmante ville de Caen. Très bien équipé, il vous propose un vaste de gamme de mobil home tout confort à la location. Très bien situé, il vous permettra de découvrir la ville de Caen. et ses environs. Vous pourrez découvrir aisément cette belle et fière cité de la côte normande. Le soir venu, vous vous relaxerez autour du bar-snack, profiterez des animations et du parc aquatique dont une piscine couverte est chauffée. Un bassin extérieur de 16m de long vous attend également en saison.